enelsonblog

not a clue, as usual

Christmas Shepherds and Quirky Fringes

Leave a comment

shepherds-1Even though I identify as a Christian, that doesn’t mean that I can walk on water. I am not that good, not even close. I am a Christian not because of how wonderful I am but because of how good He is. Truth is, I have a very bad temper. I have a tendency to worry more about myself than others. I try to fight my own way through issues rather than trust in the One who wants to fight for me. I read the words of Scripture, go to church and pray continually just as we are told to do and yet, I forget everything when a dark moment hits and it’s always a struggle to get back to the One who loves me.

Does all this make me a “bad” Christian?

Consider this – God sent His Son to bring us back to Himself. He needed to get the word out there but mankind hadn’t invented 24 hour news yet. So He called on an unusual choice. God appeared to shepherds outside of town and told them to go and see the new King. They then “spread the word concerning what had been told them about the child, and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds said to them” Luke 2: 17-18.shepherds-2

Shepherds? That’s right! The guys who spent months living with their sheep outdoors. They would have been that loner sort of person who isn’t at home in a crowd and certainly not comfortable talking to the townspeople. I often wonder if the people they spoke to were more amazed at the fact that a shepherd had entered the town and wanted to speak rather than what they were actually saying. Perhaps the news of the baby sank in later after the shock of talkative shepherds had worn off.

images

 

It is very comforting to know that God can use me as I am: somewhat quirky, often weak and scared. I feel like I am always living on the fringes, not always accepted by the church proper because I don’t always show the correct exterior or say the right things.But when God reaches out to someone like a shepherd, it shows me that I don’t have to be good to be a Christian. I don’t have to be smart to be a Christian. I don’t even have to brave and strong to be a Christian. What did the shepherds have going for them? Although they were good, smart, brave and strong in the ways the mattered to their profession, society wouldn’t have looked up to them. In fact, shepherds occupied one of the bottom rungs of the Judean social ladder. But they had the qualities that God needed. They were willing, faithful and obedient. Not that those qualities are any easier. I would say they are harder, but that is what we are called to. And it is what He will provide for you in the measure that you need it. Then stand back and let God handle the rest.

But God choose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise: God choose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.” 1 Corinthians 1:17

Paul continued this thought in his next letter to the Corinthians:

“For when I am weak, then I am strong” 2 Corinthians 12:10b

Maybe being on the quirky fringe isn’t so bad. Maybe it’s right where God wants me.

shepherds-3

 

Leave a Reply

