enelsonblog

not a clue, as usual

Happy Groundhog Day!

Leave a comment

 

P1010724

 

P1010740There’s a town in Pennsylvania that is known for its devotion to its very famous resident rodent. Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania has long been known as the Groundhog Day capital of the world. Now before I start to get angry notes from Punxsutawnians, let me just say that I have grown to admire this quaint little town over the years. My daughter attends college out that way and the highway that we take goes right through the middle of the P1010721town. It’s become quite the game as we drive through to search out the groundhog statues that adorn street corners and many local businesses. The town hired artists to create these quirky fiberglass statues and placed them around the main business district of the town. When you drive through, or better yet, stop and take a stroll around, there is no mistaking that you are in the hometown of that weather predicting phenomena known as Punxsutawney Phil.

P1010733I must admit, I was a little surprised on that first drive through. I P1010746couldn’t help but think that it was a bit crazy to choose to base your identity on a rodent combined with a legend,  but I have come to appreciate the charm and creativity of the this town and the people who call it home. It could easily have become a tacky sideshow, but instead Punxsutawney has become a place that celebrates its heritage with dignity, grace and a touch of whimsy that is endearing to all who are blessed to see it.

So now I have to ask, “Where have I based my identity? Is it in my home? My family? My job? The things that I write in this blog?” What do people see when they look at me. Be careful, for the exterior that you show the world, is the legacy that you leave behind.

 

A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another. 

John 13:34, 35

And there it is.

I choose to be follower of Christ and I hope it is more than my exterior. I want it to sink deep inside and make a difference in the way I live, the choices I make and shine in a love that goes beyond my grumpy mood or bad day.

Choose love, live love.

 

Leave a Reply

