enelsonblog

not a clue, as usual

My Dad’s Messy Workroom (Hey, dad, I get it now!)

Leave a comment

I wanted to put this up again in honor of my dad for Father’s Day. Miss you and love you, Dad.

enelsonblog

P1010287

My father was a tool and die maker by trade but a carpenter by choice.He made all sorts of stuff in his workshop from common household items to sweet children’s toys for his grandchildren. That’s how I remember him most, that and the smells of the workshop. Sawdust has a sweet, dry scent but also paint and turpentine (not so sweet). He had many hobbies beside woodworking. He discovered an artistic talent late in life which turned his bedroom into an artist’s studio. The man had the greenest thumb in the neighborhood and always grew the tallest sunflowers and tastiest tomatoes. I remember marigold flowers that he would save each year to dry and use the seeds in the spring. To this day, when I plant marigolds their pungent scent sends me back to my childhood. He was always working on several things at once which kept him very busy. It was always…

View original post 707 more words

Leave a Reply

