enelsonblog

not a clue, as usual

The Old Apple Tree

1 Comment

P1010376

It was fear that held spring back,

fear that winter would return.

P1010336The old apple tree waited patientlyP1010350

for the cold wind to give way

to the softer breezes of spring.

At first a few shy blossoms opened

then a few more.

Soon the old tree looked young and vibrant,

beautifully draped in pink and white petals

which would fall silently to the ground.

For a time the tree looked bare,

stripped back to rough bark.

Only then will the fruit begin to growP1010367

fear steps in and the Gardener steps up.

There is fear in opening up and making myself so vulnerable.

Yet, I jump into the Everlasting Arms of springtime breezes.

P1010369I watch little bits of myself flutter away,

the outer useless bits that I thought I needed.

and now richer fruits and deeper roots can grow.

Fear fades and fruit grows

on the old apple tree.

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.”

John 15:1,2P1010375

One thought on “The Old Apple Tree

Leave a Reply

